MacGee to Head 1962-63 Slate of Candidates



A. E. MacGee



R. C. Stillman



W. O. Lundberg

After the January 8, 1962, deadline for nominating suggestions, the Nominating and Election Committee, of which Robert W. Bates is chairman, met in the national headquarters office on the 10th to consider the 268 suggestions and make up a ticket for the mail balloting on officers to serve for the 1962–63 term. Members will be sent ballots in February, with an April 3 deadline for voting, preliminary to the 53rd annual meeting of the American Oil Chemists' Society, May 7–9 at the Roosevelt Hotel in New Orleans, La.

In accordance with the by-laws, the candidate for the presidency will be unopposed: A. E. MacGee (1931), who has served as vice president and membership chairman during the past year. He was advertising chairman of the Journal for many years, member-at-large on the Governing Board in 1958 and 1960, also founder of the Technical Safety Committee in 1956 and chairman until 1959. He is manager of the Industrial Division of Skelly Oil Company, Kansas City, Mo.

One candidate for vice president will be R. C. Stillman (1934), who was a member-at-large on the Governing Board in 1957, 1958, and 1961, and secretary in 1959. He has been on the Examination Board for referee chemists since 1954, on the Color Committee since 1941 and chairman since 1953, and on the Fat Analysis Committee for some time. He has been chairman of the representatives to the Inter-Society Color Council since 1953. He is in technical service, analytical standards, at the Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, O.

The other candidate will be W. O. Lundberg (1944), member-at-large on the Board in 1960, member of the Bond Award Committee from 1957 to 1959, and chairman in 1958. He is executive director of the Hormel Institute, Austin, Minn., and has been on the faculty of the University of Minnesota since 1938. He is the author of more than 100 scientific articles.

One candidate for the office of secretary will be C. W. Hoerr (1943), who has served on the Chicago Convention Committee and been co-chairman in 1953, chairman in 1956 and 1958. He was chairman of the Fatty Acid Award Committee from 1957 to 1959, and he has been a member of such committees as Nominating and Election, Advertising, Exhibits, and Convention Policy. He is technical assistant to the director of research, Durkee Famous Foods, Chicago.

Opposing him will be K. F. Mattil (1944), secretary of the Society in 1960 and member-at-large on the Board in 1959; also member of the Education Committee since 1947 and chairman from 1955 to 1959. He is associate director of research for Swift and Company, Chicago.

The candidate for treasurer will be unopposed again this year. A. F. Kapecki (1937), who has served since 1953, will again be available. He was chairman of the Chicago Convention Committee in 1953 and 1956, and chairman of the Convention Policy Committee since 1959, charged with bringing out a revised convention manual. He is secretary of Wurster and Sanger, Inc., Chicago, and secretary-treasurer of Wurster and Sanger International, Inc.

There are six candidates for member-at-large on the Governing Board, with three to be elected: G. C. Cavanagh, W. S. Gilpin, Jr., J. C. Harris, D. L. Henry, Raymond Reiser, and S. P. Taylor.

G. C. Cavanagh (1941-42; 1946), is chief chemist and research director at Ranchers Cotton Oil, Fresno, Calif. He has served on many Society committees, and recently has been made an associate editor for the Journal.

W. S. Gilpin (1944) is manager of the technical services Refinery Division, Canada Packers Ltd., Montreal, Quebec, Canada.





K. F. Mattil



A. F. Kapecki

J. C. Harris (1944), member-at-large on the Board since 1959, is an associate editor of the Journal and member of two Journal committees: Literature Review and Advertising, and member of the National Program and other committees.

D. L. Henry (1946), associate director of Law and Company, Atlanta, Ga., has served on a number of committees and was recently made chairman of the Uniform Methods Committee.

Raymond Reiser (1946) has been a member-at-large on



G. C. Cavanagh



W. S. Gilpin Jr.



J. C. Harris



D. L. Henry



Raymond Reiser



S. P. Taylor

the Board during the past two years, an associate editor of the Journal since 1957, and a member of the Membership Committee since 1959. He is professor in the department of biochemistry and nutrition, A & M College of Texas, College Station, Tex.

ment of biochemistry and nutrition, A & M College of Texas, College Station, Tex.
S. P. Taylor (1946), vice president in charge of Edible Sales, Drew Chemical Company, has served on a number of committees for the Society.

Election results will be announced in New Orleans on May 7th. Serving with R. W. Bates on the committee are: A. A. Rodeghier, R. C. Pope, R. T. Doughtie, Jr., and D. S. Bolley.

NEW SARGENT OIL STABILITY APPARATUS

FOR THE DETERMINATION OF RELATIVE STABILITY OR KEEPING QUALITY OF LARDS, FATS, AND OILS IN ACCORDANCE WITH A.O.C.S.
METHOD CD 12-57.





- all electronic proportioning control system
- no relays in regulating circuit
- variable temperature
- accuracy of regulation and uniformity ±0.05°C
- fast recovery to accommodate incremental loading
- space saving condensed form

S-63945 OIL STABILITY APPARATUS—Peroxide Method, Thermonitor Controlled, Sargent \$660.00

For complete information, write for Booklet 62.



E.H. SARGENT & CO., 4647 WEST FOSTER AVE., CHICAGO 30, ILLINOIS
DETROIT 4, MICH. • DALLAS 35, TEXAS • BIRMINGHAM 4, ALA. • SPRINGFIELD, N.J. • ANAHEIM, CALIF.